Getting Dashlane at Work? Check Out Our Top 5 FAQs
Here are answers to the five most common questions when getting started with Dashlane.
While Dashlane strives to make organizational onboarding as smooth as possible for everyone, learning a new digital tool naturally brings up some questions. Get answers to the five most commonly asked ones below.
1. How is Dashlane better than storing my passwords in my browser?
While storing your passwords in a web browser, such as Chrome or Safari, is very convenient, it’s also very risky because browsers don’t encrypt that information. A crafty cybercriminal can find ways to retrieve your passwords remotely and access your accounts.
Dashlane, on the other hand, encrypts your information and uses zero-knowledge architecture to protect it. That means that even if Dashlane gets hacked, cybercriminals won’t have access to your encrypted information.
2. How can I export my passwords from Chrome and import them into Dashlane?
To migrate passwords saved in your Chrome browser, you can import them directly from Chrome. This process works only on Android devices and doesn't create an external file. To migrate from another password manager or import a list of passwords, you can format and import a CSV file.
3. What happens to my passwords if I leave my company?
If you part ways with your current employer, a company admin will revoke your access to your company’s Dashlane business plan. When your access is removed, Dashlane will notify you in the app and by email that you’ve been removed from the plan.
When an admin removes a member, if the admin enabled the "Removing company items for revoked users" feature, items you saved to your business space will be removed from your account. Don’t worry, though—any passwords in your personal space will remain saved and available in your account.
Once removed from the plan, you'll have access to Dashlane Premium features for the next 30 days. This allows you to access your data on multiple devices, store unlimited passwords, and use Dark Web Monitoring. If you choose not to upgrade to any of Dashlane’s paid plans before your 30-day free trial ends, you'll move to the free plan. You’ll no longer be able to access your data on multiple devices at the same time or save more passwords once you've reached the 50-password limit.
4. What happens if I forget my Dashlane Master Password?
Your Master Password is the only way to unlock your Dashlane account. Only you know your Master Password, and it is never shared with or stored by Dashlane.
Our Help Center article walks you through what to do if you think you’ve forgotten your Master Password. If you have forgotten it, the guide helps you find ways you might be able to regain access to your data based on your device, features, and plan:
- If you're using the Safari app or the iOS or Android mobile app and previously activated the Master Password reset with biometrics feature, you can reset your Master Password with your fingerprint or Face ID, depending on your device. You'll then be able to create a new Master Password and regain access to your account. Check out our Master Password reset with biometrics guide for more information.
- If you're a member of a Dashlane Team or Dashlane Business plan, and your team has turned on the account recovery feature, you might be able to send an account recovery request to your Dashlane admin. Our zero-knowledge account recovery guide walks you through the details.
5. Can Dashlane access my passwords?
No, Dashlane was specifically designed so that no one can access your Master Password or any of your data. This includes Dashlane employees.
Dashlane’s mission is to make security simple, and that starts with answering all your questions.
If you have a question we didn’t answer here, check out our Help Center.
Thanks! You're subscribed. Be on the lookout for updates straight to your inbox.